COMMUNITY SCREENINGS

OFFICIAL DISCUSSION GUIDE

OFFICIAL COMMUNITY SCREENING GUIDE

SCREENINGS IN SCHOOLS PROGRAM

The Emergence: Out of the Shadows Screenings in Schools program is sponsored by Envision Financial, a division of First West Credit Union. This program funds screenings of the documentary along with a discussion and Q and A at high schools, colleges, and universities in Surrey and Delta.

To book a screening please email info@shervancouver.com

Sher Vancouver will also deliver screenings outside of Surrey and Delta for a modest fee.

Screening at Clayton Heights Secondary School in Surrey

COMPLETED SCREENINGS

2021 – 2022

LA Matheson Secondary
Surrey, B.C.
International High School Premiere
Wednesday, October 27, 2021

Douglas College
New Westminster – Anvil Centre
Sociology 1145 – Canadian Society
Tuesday, November 9, 2021

Douglas College
New Westminster Campus – Room N3302
Sociology 1145 – Canadian Society
Thursday, November 18, 2021

Tamanawis Secondary
Surrey, B.C
Career Life Connections
Grade 11 and 12 class
Tuesday, November 30, 2021

Solid State
Surrey, B.C.
Wednesday, December 1, 2021

Tamanawis Secondary
Surrey, B.C.
Career Life Connections
Grade 11 and 12 class
Thursday, December 2, 2021

Simon Fraser University
Surrey, B.C.
SFU Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies
Saturday, December 4, 2021

Clayton Heights Secondary
Surrey, B.C.
Social Justice, Photography and Graphic Arts, New Media, and Acting
Grades 10 to 12 
Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Stenberg College
Surrey, B.C.
BDMS – Business Diploma and Marketing Specialization
COM 110 – Creativity and Self-Expression
Tuesday, December 14, 2021

LunarFest
Asian-Canadian Special Events Association (ACSEA)
Vancouver, B.C.
Sunday, February 6, 2022

Ecole Panorama Ridge Secondary
Surrey, B.C.
Social Justice 12
Thursday, February 17, 2022

Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Surrey, B.C.
CRIM 1100 – Introduction to Criminology
Saturday, February 19, 2022

YouthCo
Vancouver, B.C.
Saturday, March 12, 2022

University of the Fraser Valley
Abbotsford, B.C. V2S 7M8
South Asian Studies Institute and School of Social Work
Monday, March 21, 2022

Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Richmond, B.C. V6X 3X7
HIST 2314 – Gender and Sexuality in Canadian History
Thursday, March 24, 2022

Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Surrey, B.C.
ASIA 3255 – Gender In South Asia
Wednesday, March 30, 2022

Vancouver Island University
Nanaimo, B.C.
Sponsored by Reaching Out Assisting Refugees (ROAR)
Friday, April 8, 2022

Frank Hurt Secondary
Surrey, BC, V3W  5Z4
Social Justice, Anti-Oppression Collective, and Queer Straight Alliance
Monday, May 9, 2022

Surrey District 36 Parent Advisory Council (Surrey DPAC)
Surrey, BC
Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Mustang Justice and Sher Vancouver
Surrey, BC
To coincide with Surrey Pride
Friday, June 3, 2022

North Delta Secondary
Delta, BC
English and Social Studies
Monday, June 7, 2022

North Delta Secondary
Delta, BC
Social Justice 12
Monday, June 7, 2022

Ecole Salish Secondary
Surrey, BC
Social Justice 12
Surrey, BC
Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Kelowna Out and Proud Film Festival
Opening Night Screening
Affiliate Event of the Kelowna Pride Festival
Rotary Centre for the Arts
Kelowna, BC
Thursday, June 16, 2022

5X Pride Screening
Vancouver, BC
Friday, June 17, 2022

Columbia College
Vancouver, BC
Thursday, June 23, 2022

Canadian Media Producers Association
To coincide with Pride Month
Ottawa, Ontario
Thursday, June 23, 2022

Fairleigh Dickinson University
Campus-Wide Event
Vancouver, BC
Thursday, June 23, 2022

North Delta Centre for the Arts
To coincide with Delta Pride
Sponsored by the CIty of Delta
Delta, B.C.
Saturday, August 13, 2022

Douglas College
For Douglas College Alumni and Donors
New Westminster, BC
Thursday, August 18, 2022

City Centre Library
Surrey, B.C.
Surrey Libraries Premiere
Saturday, September 24, 2022

Southpointe Academy
Delta, BC
Wednesday, October 12, 2022
Grade 11 and 12

Panel Discussion with Emergence Director Vinay Giridhar
Title: The Truth, The Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth: Creative Equity and Authenticity
New West Film Festival
Sunday, October 23, 2022
New Westminster Landmark Cinema

Artist Talk with Jag Nagra – Cast of Emergence
Thursday, October 27, 2022
LA Matheson Secondary School
Surrey, BC

United Churches of Langley 
Saturday, November 19, 2022
Langley, BC 

Unifor BC Regional Conference
Saturday, November 26, 2022
Whistler, BC

White Rock Pride and Sources
White Rock Players Theatre
7 pm
Saturday, January 7, 2023


UPCOMING SCREENINGS

2023

University of British Columbia
Director, Centre for India and South Asia Research (CISAR)
School of Public Policy and Global Affairs – Institute of Asian Research
In-Person Screening
Thursday, January 26, 2023
Guest Speakers: Alex, Jag, Jaspal, and Vinay

Simon Fraser University
PLCY 824 – Social Policy
In-Person Screening
Harbour Centre, Vancouver
1:30 pm
Tuesday, February 28, 2023
Guest Speaker: Alex

University of British Columbia
School of Social Work
In-Person Screening
5:00 pm
Friday, March 3, 2023
Guest Speakers: Alex and Jaspal

Network to Eliminate Violence in Relationships (NEVR) Conference
Online
Screening of Emergence in Advance and Q and A with 150+ local stakeholders at the Conference
11 am
Thursday, May 18, 2023
Guest Speaker: Alex

Surrey Civic Theatres and Surrey Archives Presents
City of Surrey Pride Showcase
To coincide with Pride Month
Emergence: Out of the Shadows
In-Person Screening
Centre Stage at Surrey City Hall
13450 104 Avenue
Surrey, B.C. V3T 1V8
Date: June 10, 2023
1 pm, Screening of Emergence starts at 2 pm
Contact: Christina Campbell of Surrey Arts Centre and Stacey Gilkinson of Surrey Archives
Guest Speakers: Alex, Jaspal, Vinay, Jag, Avtar, and Rajwant
Seating Capacity: 205 people